The Joint in the Park

Somewhere in a park under a tree two people are discussing their lives lived in their own small town. One a male aged 24 named Gunderson a fairly average person of fairly average North American intellect. The second is a female named Jacklyn, an exotic looking mid-western beauty, but fairly low intellect. As for me I was off in the corner barely noticed smoking joints. I’m really no one of concern except I’m here to tell you the story of these two people. The joint was rather exceptional it was a lemon haze well grown and well flushed.

The town was like any small town in the mid-west the Walmart two towns over had killed every local economy, from time to time some well-meaning idiot would open up a new restaurant and it would go under in a year or two but that was life. The only thing that ever seemed to stay in business was the hardware and building supply stores, the only true constants in these towns. Down town always consisted of two intersecting streets and local store front often unoccupied. And the urban sprawl went on for days. In fact the only real advantage to living here was the local gardening community that would keep you in fresh vegetables most of the time if not they still had eats.

So in this town of anywhere it was I found those two people discussing their seemingly hopeless existence. In this park with a few trees a swing set to sit on and a bunch of other meaningless open space often too hot or too cold to enjoy.

“Fuck this really couldn’t have happened at a better time” Gunderson bellows as him and Jacklyn got out of a beat up old ford F150.

“Well it’s not like it was just my fault it take two to fuck up this badly at life” replied Jacklyn with a snarly tone

“I know that, but we had fucking plans to get out of this fucking dump though” he said

“Oh calm down you’re going to become a grumpy old man” she replied with a lighter sarcastic tone.

“You always say that, why must you say that? I have no intentions of becoming a grumpy old man” he retorted.

It was then I sort of choked on my joint laughing as I coughed. I had been trying not to listen but they are not exactly making that easy at this volume. I quickly faked falling over to sleep as my interest at this point had won out and I was curious to see where this was headed. This happens often on the road. You hear things you shouldn’t collect stories that were best left hidden. But how else do we learn other than to make mistakes and observe others mistakes and learn from them.

“Listen, it’s not exactly like we have a choice in the matter. I’m only 21, you’re just 23. We don’t have good jobs yet we both would like to travel with each other and no one seems to want us around here anyway” she said softly and put her arm around him

He pulled back for a second of self-doubt before just accepting the hug and asked in a rapid fire confused way “I know but what are we going to do? Have you even gone to the doctors yet? To you know find out.”

“No I haven’t I drove three towns over just to get the damn home test you know how people talk” she replied rather flatly

“Well it is what it is, except we aren’t certain what exactly we are doing. Either you’re pregnant or we are still leaving hear soon and won’t be back for many years” He said finally calming down

“well what we have to do next at least we can do get through it together, You can find a job if this is the end of our travel plans or I can too and whatever we need to do” she said reassuringly

“Well that’s the problem I don’t have any credited skills. I’m just a farm hand and don’t really have any references. Fuck I’ve basically been a slave my whole life.” He said

“Well that doesn’t mean you’re not a hard worker. Just because you have no references doesn’t mean you can’t get a good job” she said

“Have you ever tried to get a good job before, oh sure I can walk into any old job and get hired, but to get one of these good jobs that actually pay for you to live you need references, degrees certificates and so on.”
“They just don’t know you like I do, you will get a good job in time” She said

“I know I could, why haven’t you mentioned our other plans yet, we did just spend a year working odd jobs for traveling gear? Do you want this more than the trip we worked so hard for?”

She sighed and replied “Gee I don’t really know, it’s not like I wanted a kid this soon in life, I guess I never really thought about this before so I’m just as busy in my mind trying to process this as you obviously are.”

It was at this moment if you were observing this you could tell Gunderson was thinking really hard about what she just said as if a huge brick wall had suddenly come into existence and promptly ran into him. As his girlfriend just stood there wondering what to do.

“look we could also do both, There is no reason if there is a kid to be had now that I can’t have it and we can’t still take off, otherwise we might as well sell all the gear to someone else” she said

“Well you are right but you know how people talk” He reminded her

“Fuck em, let them talk. It is a small person with no life to live that needs to talk about others all the time to make them feel better about their own life” she said

“Fuck Babe this is why I hooked up with you in the first place, you wouldn’t let their opinions get the better of you on issues.”

“I know I know you never shut up about it” She said with a smile on her face.

“Ok well it’s getting late out I should get you home” he said. Secretly he dreaded taking her home. As all people did in this situation if the parents found out they may over react as most parents did due to being orphaned by society to be raised by Judge Judy and Dr Phil they felt the need for over dramatics.

Ah life in a small town my joint was long over and as I lit another one I felt a sudden shift in the wind. It didn’t change direction but its mood seemed elevated. A happier wind, the way it made the trees sing put me off me to sleep behind the small thicket of bushes the park had. It was almost as satisfying as what happened next.

So it is morning time and I’m still in my hole in the park bushes up pulls the same truck. Gunderson and Jacklyn get out and begin to talk again. I’m guessing it was some time around 6am as the grass was still dewy but the sun was well up. They just sat their smoking cigarettes for about half an hour. They were just looking at each other as if they were talking in their minds in silent conversation. You could tell by the look in their eyes they had strong feelings for each other. It is what work for them and in a way it was very heart warming.

Well they got out after a while of just hanging out in the truck cab. Lowered the tail gate and sat on it.

“So we go no matter what?” Jacklyn asks

“Yes two weeks from now we leave, and never look back.” He replied excitedly

“I guess whatever happens, happens and we can handle it like a stream handles a mountain” She said bravely looking off into the distance

Now it was about that time I came stumbling out of the bush, a little leery of the morning sun, which was blazing hot. I had rolled a joint earlier and was now getting up to go get breakfast.

“Would you guys like to smoke a joint to celebrate your new path” I asked

“Sure” They replied almost in unison, which had put a smile on my face as smiles seemed rare these days.

I lit the joint took a few puffs to get it going and passed to Gunderson. “So I could help but over hear a lot of your conversation last night, glad to see you both decided to do something with your life” I said

“Yah sorry about that whole scene last night” Jacklyn replied

“I’ll get over it” I replied and let of a hearty laugh

Gunderson Just finished his puff and passed it onto Jacklyn

“So you understand the local small town trap too?” quizzed Gunderson

“Yup was born in a small place myself, but I’ve seen it all big cities, ghost towns, mountains deserts and more mountains plus a few seas. You get a sense for these things and just kind of find these beautiful places where massive amounts of good things seem to take place. The trick to it all is to just get up and go” I replied

“Wow, I’m taking that a sign we made the right choice Gundy” Jacklyn exclaimed

“Totally, the future is looking bright all ready”

By this time the joint was done the conversation devolved into the usual small talk. “Where are you from? What kind of stuff do you do? How old are you? What was the weather like in this place” It’s really all rather boring and not to fun to mention, but we spent the better part of the next half hour doing stuff like this.

After that I shook their hands wished them a happy future and they asked if they could come by the spot a few times before they left. I naturally agreed and told them most of what I know. On the last day they were in town they stopped by in the morning and told me they had something for me. It was a nice little box of food and pit bull puppy as Gunderson’s parents where breading them they had easy access. So I thanked them profusely sure my gift of knowledge would do them well in life and they gave me something to look forward to. I’m not sure how their whole pregnancy scare played out but either way two coolest people I have met escaping it all to make their way in life across this globe.

Well another first draft this whole short story thing is new to me i dunno its fun. comment boo it i dunno what ever works I was high but now i am higher so off to cough some more suckers 4000 word day after a bunk weekend! now back to work and by work i mean sleeping and doing nothing but drawing! have a nice day p.s. if L. Ron was right and when is any creator of a religon right am i right or what, i should get a penny a word at 4000 words that’s $40 someone pay up. wait inflation thats a ballzion bucks fuckers might make this homeless joint smoker into a series i dunno yet it’s new to me personally i only interject into the conversation of drunks as a hobo

Published by: mitch fourtwenty

I write fiction, do street art, used to paint trains but that's really hard when your old, they just always seemed so dull and NY had better trains then we did with more color so i always liked throwing paint at my trains, I have one main blog which is my idea board which you are probably free to steel from just don't let me catch you with my more professional lawyers, I was depressed at one point in life because people kept pointing out i was different then them thanks, I guess i am, I don't fit in anywhere particular but I'm pretty happy because it seems like instead i fit in everywhere. I occasionally use grape vines to talk at some people, which are slow but un hack-able, I'm also my own medical researcher and a host of other nifty job titles i don't mind doing for myself it makes me happier each day! I am intelligent to the point where i'm hyper curious about things so i tend to ask alot of question about stuff if peole dont piss on me for having the super human ability of curiosity which keeps me learning despite a system that turned its back on me long ago, I still survive and write, one day i might go public but considering I'm probably wanted in my home town and don't even know it because i never got caught i don't often clue people in on who i am on earth, on the inter webs. while i have many masks that may seems scary even to some people I'm genuinely just a man making his community a better place to live for everyone he talks to that ever had a sad story who erased my metal ass face? I liked my metal face?

Categories short storiesTags, , , , , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

